randyd
07-29-2009, 01:12 PM
As another example of how NOT to design a web site, Saxony Creative Group has the Aptera Motors entire web site providing links apparently to any web page with "Aptera" on it, even the wrong "Aptera."
There since Jul 23, 2009 5:27 PM, Aptera's main page frame (http://www.aptera.com) has a link (http://news.google.com/news/url?fd=R&sa=T&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.btobonline.com%2Fapps%2Fpbcs. dll%2Farticle%3FAID%3D%2F20090723%2FFREE%2F9072399 96%2F1085%2FFREE&usg=AFQjCNFRtzU2ngahjJLcVUpClKapGTK7eQ) next to the http://www.aptera.com/i/rssFeed.png pointing to a web page about the wrong Aptera: Aptera Inc., a software company (http://www.apterainc.com). Apparently, the bot that was looking for new web pages about Aptera Motors found a BtoB Online page about any old "Aptera" and added it to the Aptera Motors web page. And because the link is in the frame, it shows up on every page, not just the home page. :sign0007: (Note: I did not check every page, but I did check a bunch.)
Out of curiosity, I looked at the we page source and three other links to pages about "Aptera Inc." that had appeared previously, all about the software "Aptera" and not about Aptera Motors. Of the 20 old links left in the page source, 6 were not about the right Aptera. Sheesh! And of the others, many were about car companies where some Aptera (Motors) enthusiast simply mentions "Aptera" in a comment like this (http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/010199.html) and this (http://dvice.com/archives/2009/07/tesla-motors-ha.php). Not exactly high quality content...
There since Jul 23, 2009 5:27 PM, Aptera's main page frame (http://www.aptera.com) has a link (http://news.google.com/news/url?fd=R&sa=T&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.btobonline.com%2Fapps%2Fpbcs. dll%2Farticle%3FAID%3D%2F20090723%2FFREE%2F9072399 96%2F1085%2FFREE&usg=AFQjCNFRtzU2ngahjJLcVUpClKapGTK7eQ) next to the http://www.aptera.com/i/rssFeed.png pointing to a web page about the wrong Aptera: Aptera Inc., a software company (http://www.apterainc.com). Apparently, the bot that was looking for new web pages about Aptera Motors found a BtoB Online page about any old "Aptera" and added it to the Aptera Motors web page. And because the link is in the frame, it shows up on every page, not just the home page. :sign0007: (Note: I did not check every page, but I did check a bunch.)
Out of curiosity, I looked at the we page source and three other links to pages about "Aptera Inc." that had appeared previously, all about the software "Aptera" and not about Aptera Motors. Of the 20 old links left in the page source, 6 were not about the right Aptera. Sheesh! And of the others, many were about car companies where some Aptera (Motors) enthusiast simply mentions "Aptera" in a comment like this (http://www.worldchanging.com/archives/010199.html) and this (http://dvice.com/archives/2009/07/tesla-motors-ha.php). Not exactly high quality content...